October Centenary Captain Bryan Blair reports on his Captain’s Day (25-11-2011)

October Captain's Day
After a very wet morning when postponement was a real possibility, the weather brightened up and 16 teams of four took to the tees for a shotgun start. The weather had been so bad in Talybont that Dai and Judith James had to be persuaded that the rain had actually stopped in Aberystwyth and that play was possible.

The two best of four stableford scores on each hole counted which made for a very relaxing event especially when your partners were scoring well.

The winning team were:
Tom O’Connor, Donald Kane, Aneurin Thomas & Dylan Edwards
(Lots of partners playing well here).

Second place went to:
Richie Jenkins, Richard Duggan, Ioan Richards & Aled Bebb

In third place were:
Michael Blair, Paul Picken, Alan McKenzie & Eugene Evans.

Thanks to Derrick, Lucia and their helpers for providing us with some excellent food.
A successful day was enjoyed by all and £714 was raised for the Centenary fund.


PS The Management Committee would like to thank Bryan, Joyce and all their family for all their efforts in making this such a memorable day.

The Grand Centenary Draw was also held in the evening.
Our sincere thanks go to Terry Richards, Wyn and Mair Hughes for all their efforts behind the scenes in organising the whole event and the sale of tickets throughout the year.
There was also a huge effort made by many members in selling tickets. We thank them for all their efforts, much appreciated.

The list of prize winners is as follows
£ 500.00 Mr Marc Wyn Jones
£ 300.00 Mr Nigel Walmsley
£ 200.00 Mr Colin Davies
£ 40.00 Mr Mike Blair
£ 30.00 Mr Aneurin Thomas
£ 20.00 Mr Hughie Gittings

A note to all the winners that our shop is now full of items that would make ideal Christmas presents to themselves.

more news

Aberystwyth Golf Club, Brynymor Road, Aberystwyth, SY23 2HY    Phone: 01970 615104         Privacy Statement        Health & Safety Document
website design by mach2media     Website developed by Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.