Ladies Section's Presentation Day (03-09-2013)

A further report from Sue Hurds
The Ladies section of Aberystwyth Golf Club was delighted to welcome Mr Billy Owen to the presentation ceremony held on 10th August 2013.
Billy attended to present the Margaret Owen memorial trophy; a competition played in memory of his late wife who had been a longstanding member of the ladies section. This year the trophy was successfully defended by Ann Shaw who returned an excellent score of 40 Stableford points to retain the trophy. Ann stormed ahead of her competitors with second place being grasped by Iris Richards with 34 points on the back nine from Margaret Maddock.

Ladies Captain Maggie Townrow thanked Billy for attending and went on to present the following prizes:

This years monthly medal play-off was won by Ruth Morris.

The GUW Medal 6 was clinched by one shot by Kay Thomas with a nett 73, one shot infront of Ann Shaw.

GUW Medal 7 was won by Ruth Morris with an excellent nett 69, three shots ahead of Sue Sherman who claimed second place with a nett 72.

On 13th July Barry Crawford hosted his Captains Day at the club. Ann Shaw once again took the first ladies prize with a score of 40 Stableford points; Kathleen Jenkins took second prize with 37points. The Longest Drive prize was won by Kay Thomas.

Kathleen Jenkins had a superb game on 3rd August and claimed the May East Trophy with an excellent 42 Stableford points reducing her handicap by two. Ruth Morris also had a good game as runner up, returning 37 points.

Bryony James also reduced her handicap by two when she won the Kenrick Cup with 38 points. Doreen Jones clinched second place on the back nine from Kay Thomas. Kay remained on form to win GUW Medal 8 with a nett 74; Ladies Captain Maggie Townrow took second place with a nett 77.

During Open week Ladies competed for the Shelagh Pearson Salver. Three Ladies returned a score of 33 points and had to be separated by a back nine countback. The countback resulted in first place being awarded to Ladies Captain Maggie Townrow, second place went to Ruth Morris with Kathleen Jenkins in third.

The Jubilee Anniversary Cup, donated by past member Evelyn Jenkins, was won by NMargaret Thomas with 28 points, one point ahead of Kathleen Jenkins in second place.

more news

Aberystwyth Golf Club, Brynymor Road, Aberystwyth, SY23 2HY    Phone: 01970 615104         Privacy Statement        Health & Safety Document
website design by mach2media     Website developed by Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.