Ruth Morris wins President's Prize (03-09-2013)

Sue Hurds reports on the early summer new from the Ladies Section.
The strong wind played a part when the President's Prize was contended on 22nd June. The wind was behind for some key holes on the front nine, but once the players turned into the wind the holes seemed much longer than usual. Ruth Morris played an excellent front nine with a score of 19 points, she kept her game together in the fierce winds on the back nine and returned an excellent score of 32 points, a run away win from second placed Kathleen Jenkins and the remainder of the field. President Ken Burnell presented the prize, congratulating all ladies who played in the windy conditions. He was thanked by Ruth Morris for supporting the ladies section and for making the presentation.

Ladies Captain, Maggie Townrow then continued with the presentations for recent competitions. Ruth Morris proved that she had been on consistently good form featuring in the prizes for many many of the key competitions including the monthly medal play off which she won with a score of 91-19-72. The Beryl Roberts Cup was also won by Ruth with a score of 35 points, four points clear of Iris Richards who claimed second place with a score of 31 points.

The Ladies Captain, Maggie Townrow, had an excellent round in the GUW Medal 5, clutching first place with a score of 98-27-71 narrowly squeezing Bryony James into second place with 89-17-72.

Maggie also played well in the Jimmy Reeves competition, winning the best net score to claim the trophy with 97-27-20. The winner of the best gross; winning the Silver Salver for the best gross with a score of 94, was the on form Ruth Morris. The salver was presented by Sue Sherman.

Kathleen Jenkins won the Jubilee Rosebowl competition with a very good 36 points, runner up was Iris Richards.

more news

Aberystwyth Golf Club, Brynymor Road, Aberystwyth, SY23 2HY    Phone: 01970 615104         Privacy Statement        Health & Safety Document
website design by mach2media     Website developed by Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.